Keep yourself up to date with all our local news here. You can also follow us on Twitter - @IoDNI – to make sure you don’t miss any of our division and member news.

Helen Kirkpatrick MBE wins IoD Lunn’s Award of Excellence

08 February 2013

Helen Kirkpatrick MBE wins IoD Lunn’s Award of Excellence

Helen Kirkpatrick MBE was announced as the winner of the 2013 Institute of Directors Lunn’s Award of Excellence at the IoD NI Annual Dinner.

The event, held in the Europa Hotel on 7th February 2013, saw business leaders addressed by Iron Maiden front man, Bruce Dickinson.

Helen is the first female, and the thirteenth winner, of Northern Ireland’s most prestigious business award.

Helen was recognised for her outstanding contribution to a number of organisations, across the commercial and social sectors.

Helen began her career as a Chartered Accountant, quickly moving into Management Consultancy with the Big Four. From 1999, she has dedicated herself to Non-Executive Director roles and has held positions with the International Fund for Ireland, NI-CO (Northern Ireland Public Sector Enterprises Ltd.), Enterprise Equity Venture Capital Group and Irish Truck Rentals. She was awarded the MBE in 2012 for her work for Crumlin Together.

Helen is currently a Non-Executive Director of Kingspan Plc., Cause NI and UTV Plc., where she stepped up to the role of Interim Chairman in 2012, and guided the company seamlessly through a period of turbulence, much change and unchartered waters. Helen also works for the Corporate Finance Division of Invest NI.

Judges of the award included; Linda Brown, Divisional Director, IoD NI; David Elliott, Group Business Editor, The Belfast Telegraph; Suzanne Lunn, Marketing Director, Lunn’s the Jewellers; John Simpson, Northern Ireland economist and last year’s winner; Michael Howard, Managing Director, The SHS Group.

The candidates for the Award were the winners of the IoD Director of the Year Awards, who were announced in November 2012.

Suzanne Lunn and Mervyn McCall, Chair of the IoD, presented Ms Kirkpatrick with the perpetual sterling silver trophy and one of the most desirable watches in the world, a stainless Rolex Daytona.

Suzanne Lunn commented:

“We are delighted to announce Helen as the winner of this year’s Award of Excellence. Helen has made a contribution greater than most can only dream of, to businesses and communities – on a range of scales - across Northern Ireland and beyond. Her dedication to business is truly inspiring.”

Mervyn McCall, Chairman of the IoD NI said:

“On behalf of the IoD membership I wish to convey my warmest congratulations to Helen. As the winner of the IoD non-executive Director of the Year, her leadership and insight has proven invaluable for many organisations. Helen typifies all the quality of our local directors and is a worthy winner of the Lunn’s Award of Excellence.”

The evening was attended by senior business leaders from across Northern Ireland and Richard de Leyser, Managing Director, Rolex UK.

The IoD Lunn’s Award of Excellence has been presented since 1999 and since then winners have included, David Dobbin of United Dairy Farmers; Dr Peter Fitzgerald of Randox; Michael Howard of food and drinks company SHS Group; John McCann of UTV; and Michael Ryan of Bombardier.



Join Us

  • The UK's largest and oldest membership organisation for directors and professional leaders
  • Meet and network with over 37,000 members across the UK
  • Be part of a respected and influential body
  • Benefit from advice, guidance and support
    gained from over 100 years of business
Join Today image

IoD News

Get our latest IoD news and events

Contact Us

  • contact +4428 9068 3224
  • mail
  • icon IoD Northern Ireland, Riddel Hall
    185 Stranmillis Road, Belfast
    BT9 5EE
  • icon Monday - Friday
    9.00am - 5.00pm